UWSA Elections

UWSA By-Election

The By-Election is where students can run for vacant positions that were not filled during the General Election. To run, you will need to fill out a nomination form and submit it to the Chief Elections Commissioner before the end of the nomination period. 

Key Dates:

UWSA elections, as per Section 5 of our By-laws, run on a four week cycle.

Nomination Period:  Monday, Sept. 28 – Thursday, Oct. 8 *Due by 6 p.m. 
All Candidates Meeting: Friday, Oct. 9 at 12:30 p.m.
Candidate Speeches: Monday, Oct. 19 from 12.30 p.m.
Campaign Week:  Monday, Oct. 19 – Sunday, Oct. 25
Voting:  Monday, Oct. 26 – Wednesday Oct. 28

2020 By-Election Candidates

Recreation & Athletics Director
Jacob Wiseman

Science Director
Olivia Ferreira
Isaiah Zacharias

Women & Non-Binary Students’ Director
Arshiya Bagheri Torbehbar

Board of Regents Representative
Holly Hunter

PACE Director
Valerie Bermudez

Vice-President External Affairs
Jonathan Henderson

Shawna Peloquin

Thinking of running? Check out the Candidate Guide for details on the open positions, campaigning, and voting: Candidates Guide By-Election 2020

Voter Guide

Learn all about your candidates and their agendas before you cast your vote! Download this handy Voter Guide for information on voting in the 2020 UWSA By-Election: Voter Guide 2020

Missed the speeches? Check out the video below!

Governing Documents

In accordance with the By-law 10 – State of Emergency Measures, the 2020 UWSA By-Election will be held online with virtual campaigning and balloting to accommodate the restriction of campus due to the COVID-19 pandemic. To review the rules for the 2020 By-Elections, please click here: Election Rules 2020

Canadidates can review Election By-laws in Sections IV and V of the UWSA By-Laws.

Appeals and Complaints

Election Complaints will be reviewed by the Chief Elections Commissioner who will make a ruling or provide a written rationale for why a complaint is not valid. Appeals can be made to the REBLITE Board. Please use the following forms to submit election appeals and complaints:

UWSA Election Complaint Form
UWSA Election Appeal Form

Click here for an important message from the REBLITE board on their commitment to a safe and fair election. 

Please click here to review the rulings to submitted complaints and appeals: 2020 Election Rulings


Shenal Fernando
Chief Elections Commissioner

Charith Pathirathna
Deputy Elections Commissioner
(431) 388-3903

University of Winnipeg
University of Winnipeg
University of Winnipeg