UWSA Elections

UWSA elections, as per Section 3 of our Policies, run on a four week cycle.

Weeks 1 and 2: Candidate Nominations and Referendum Submissions.

Week 3: Campaigning.

Week 4: Campaigning and Voting.

By-Election

The By-Election is where students can run for vacant positions that were not filled in the General Election cycle.

Positions available for students to run for include:

Community Liaison

Graduate Students’ Director

LGBT* Director

PACE Students’ Director

Part-Time/Mature Students’ Director

Recreation & Athletics Director

Student Living Director

Nomination Period: Monday, Sept. 25, 2017 – Thursday, Oct. 5, 2017

All Candidates Meeting: Friday, Oct. 6, 2017

Campaign Week: Monday, Oct. 16, 2017 – Friday, Oct. 20, 2017

Voting: Monday, Oct. 23, 2017 – Wednesday, Oct. 25, 2017

General Election 

The General Election is where students can run for an Executive Team position (President, Vice-President External Affairs, Vice-President Student Affairs, Vice-President Internal Affairs) a Board of Director position, a Senate position or a Board of Regents seat.

Nomination Period: Monday, Feb. 5, 2018 – Thursday, Feb. 15, 2018

All Candidates Meeting: Friday, Feb. 16, 2018

Campaign Week: Monday, Feb. 26, 2018 – Friday, March 2, 2018

Voting: Monday, March 5, 2018 – Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Special General Meeting:

Wednesday, Oct. 25, 2017 at 12:30 p.m. in The Hive

Annual General Meeting: 

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 at 12:30 p.m. in The Hive

Election Forms:

UWSA By-Election Nomination Form: By-Election 2017 Nomination Form

UWSA Election Appeals Form

UWSA Election Complaint Form

UWSA REBLITE Board Ruling Form

 UWSA Election CEC Ruling Form

Contact:

Hollie Swart
Chief Elections Commissioner
cec@theuwsa.ca

 

 

University of Winnipeg
University of Winnipeg
University of Winnipeg